Bubble: burst

It’s all samurai and geisha until someone pukes in the elevator of your apartment building over the weekend and doesn’t deign to clean it up. So much for Japanese politeness! Thank god I pay 10,000 a month to a maintenance man who will get the chance to deal with it the next time he is in! Maybe the puker decided to leave it so that it would get dry and crusty, and thus easier to chisel off.

 

* I don’t know why I bother writing this but you should know by now that I like living in Tokyo. I wouldn’t be here if I didn’t. But one thing that I can’t fail to notice is my attitude change over the years from being a uni exchange student, to an independent student, to a Kaisha bitch (not to be confused with an OL). I’ve long since considered Tokyo my adopted home, albeit temporary, and along with that comes all the minor annoyances of daily life that you can find anywhere with a slight Japanese twist. I’ve noticed this among friends and acquaintances and no matter your initial reason for coming to Japan, at some point your bubble will burst.

10 thoughts on “Bubble: burst

  1. Jeffrey says:

    Dear Otohime-sama,

    Glad to see you’re back.

    There seems to be a certain 18-month threshold. If you still find the place fascinating and want more, you re-up for a longer stint. If not, you start counting the days. It depends, of course, on where you are and what you are doing. If you were a JET assigned to pretty much anywhere on Kyushu not Fukuoaka or a town in Aomori, the excitement of it all may be gone in 6 days unless cultural immersion was your desire. But anyone who finds Osaka, Kyoto, Yokohama, Tokyo or even Nagoya difficult to handle, then maybe you should have stayed in Des Moinse to begin with.

    • Thank you for sticking with me for so long! There’s a definite expiry date for some and it’s been a slow but bizarre realization that I have become one of the long in the tooth gaijin I used to marvel at. I’m going to find it very hard to leave, but it’s imperative that I do, eventually, since the next step for me can’t be taken here in Tokyo.

  2. Sarah Maline says:

    So wonderful to have you back!

  3. Marie says:

    I have to go down a street with several izakaya very early in the morning as part of my commute. Seeing the massive scary crows eating the vomit on the street always gets my morning off to a good start. Yay Tokyo! But I can’t really feel sorry for myself when I know it’s actually someone’s job to take care of whatever the crows didn’t get to an hour or so later.

  4. Beauty Box says:

    Yeah I hear ya on the spots of vomit in this city…hahahahaha…!! I have a love-hate r/s with Japan and like you said, I wouldn’t be here if not for the fact I choose to be here, but there are just some things that are so illogical and foreign that you just have to laugh at them in order not to take it too seriously….

  5. chris says:

    I live in the back alleys of an Inaka shithole and vomit and urine are everywhere and so are the miserable drunks that produce em’.

    I never had a bubble but it woulda been burst in that alley.

    Japan.

    It’s just another country.

  6. It is just another country, but for some reason many people (I include my younger self) think Japanese shit doesn’t stink. Guess what? It does!

Tell me what you really think

